Tattersalls Chelt Main Banner
Baileys Top Right


Quality Entry for the Joseph O`Reilly

A total of 18 horses have been entered for the Joseph O’Reilly Hunter’s Chase at Fairyhouse on Tuesday the 23rd of April. The 3m1f contest has a prize fund of €16,000 and is set to take place at 17:15.

The Joseph O'Reilly is one of the most renowned Hunter’s Chases on the circuit and the Fairyhouse contest has been won by some of the top Hunter Chasers over the years, including recent Cheltenham Festival winners Tammy’s Hill and Salsify. While some first class performers between-the-flags such as Maple Mons and Sydney Paget have also taken recent renewals.

In fact last year’s winner Sizing Coal bids to retain his crown for Jim Dreaper, although the 11-year-old will have to bounce back from a slightly below par effort in the Tetratema on his last start.

The Declan Queally-trained Fenno’s Storm won the afore mentioned Tetratema in very impressive fashion and the in-form eight-year-old is sure to be well fancied to follow up if ground conditions are suitable.

It Came To Pass showed plenty of ability early on in his career and the nine-year-old is truly starting to fulfil that promise now for Eugene O’Sullivan.  Having won his last couple of starts in open company the son of Brian Boru could play a big role here.

The Willie Mullins-trained Billaway could also be well fancied in the market having taken a Downpatrick Hunters Chase in impressive fashion back in March.

Salsify and On The Fringe have both enjoyed some huge days in the Hunter Chase sphere, both winning at multiple festivals. At 14 both are in the twilight of their careers although both are still quite consistent sorts.

The David Christie-trained Road To Riches ran a huge race when third in the Aintree Foxhunters could well run a big race here in the hands of his owner/rider David Maxwell. Ucello Conti pulled up in the same race but was far from disgraced in the Cheltenham Foxhunters under Jamie Codd.

The likes of Aintree Foxhunters fourth - Coastal Tiep, open winner - Artic Skipper and former winner Sydney Paget could all also have their chances here.

Lorem ipsum dolor

Accumsan liberavisse exan orem ipsum. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, orem ips Lorem ipsum vel accumsan


Already a member? Sign in