Pointers on Track

Point-to-point graduates remain to the fore as more Cheltenham entries emerge

The Grade 2 National Hunt Chase for amateur riders sees a remarkable 28 ex-pointers entered from an overall entry of 61.

Already a Grade 1 winner over fences, Loughanmore winner, Battleoverdoyen is among the high-class entry.
A winner in Monksgrange and a subsequent runner up in the champion bumper in 2018, and most impressive on his recent chase start, Carefully Selected also hold an entry in this contest.
His 12-year-old stable companion Faugheen is also entered, who was an impressive winner in Ballysteen in 2012 for the Andrew Slattery stable.
Third in the Thyestes Chase on Thursday for Noel Meade, Minella Fair finished second on his debut point-to-point run for the John Nallen team at Mainstown in 2015.
At The Acorn, Champagne Classic, The Conditional, and First Approach are all among the remainder of the entries for this true-staying race that have come from the point-to-point circuit.
The Marsh Novice Chase sees 20 ex-pointers' among the entry of 71.
The aforementioned Battleoverdoyen, Champagne Classic,  and Faugheen are all among the entries for this novice contest.
Impressive 25-length Loughanmore winner, Black Op holds an entry for owner Roger Brookhouse and trainer Tom George.
Co. Meath trainer John McConnell has entered Go Another One in this novice race, who finished second on his debut point-to-point run at Dawstown in 2016.
Highly-regarded hurdler, Samcro finished second to Faugheen recently in a grade-one novice chase over the Christmas period.
A winner for Colin Bowe and Barry O'Neill in Monksgrange, the son of Germany also holds an entry here.
Slate House, a facile winner at Tattersalls Farm in 2016 won a Grade 1 novice chase over Christmas in gutsy fashion and is among the entries for this race.
The RSA Chase is also highly populated by 28 point-to-point graduates.
Once again, it sees the aforementioned Battleoverdoyen, Black Op, Champagne Classic, Faugheen, First Approach, Go Another One, Minella Fair, Samcro, Slate House, and The Conditional all among the entry of 53.
Last years' Albert Bartlett winner, Minella Indo is also among the entries, who was a winner in Dromahane for John Nallen and Johnny Barry.
The Arkle Chase sees seven ex-pointers' among the entries.
Samcro, once again holds an entry in this prestigious race.
Henry De Bromhead is responsible for two of these with Jan Maat and recent Grade 1 winner, Notebook.
Global Citizen was a winner in Bellurgan  for William Murphy and Noel McParlan in 2017, and he now represents the Ben Pauling team.
Olly Murphy has entered Brewinupastorm, who won his point-to-point at Quakerstown in 2017 for Tim Hyde and Stephen Connor.
Maire Banrigh, and Royal Rendezvous make up the remainder of ex-pointers among the entries.

Search News


The Forge Hill Crowned Champion P2P Mare

The Sean Doyle trained The Forge Hill will be crowned this years Champion Point-to-Point Mare.

RACE Schooling Preparation Courses

RACE are holding two schooling preparation courses in June (24th & 29th).  Suitable for A1 and A3 licence holders.

High Stakes Champion Point-to-Pointers

This year’s Champion Point-to-Pointer was a tightly fought contest with the John Walsh trained High Stakes taking the prize.


Membership of P2P.ie provides access to an extensive range of additional point-to-point content and features, exclusive only to P2P.ie members.


Already a member? Sign in